‘Even If The Sky Falls’ spoiler-free review

24218983

In my TBR, I briefly talked about writing about the New Orleans Saints and that was the main reason why I wanted to read this book. This book was way different than I expected and it ended up being a bit of a disappointment. Maybe I should have read more into it, but I won’t give away anything.

Here’s the blurb from Even If The Sky Falls: “One midsummer night. Two strangers. Three rules: No real names. No baggage. No phones. A whirlwind twenty-four-hour romance about discovering what it means to feel alive in the face of one of life’s greatest dangers: love.”

Sadly, I didn’t love this book as much as I’d hoped. Julia was the main character, but to me, she came off a little bit unrelatable. She had her problems but she didn’t act maturely when she dealt with them. The other character I couldn’t stand was the church camp counselor or whatever especially the moment towards the end, it was just so weird.

The other thing I couldn’t deal with was the instant love. I know it’s set over 24 hours, but they moved incredibly fast for people who hardly know anything about each other. It really turned me off especially the ending. It was completely predictable and didn’t leave me satisfied. I felt like a lot of plots were left unfinished and lastly, a few moments felt completely unrealistic.

This book had its fair share of problems, but I did like a lot about it. I loved the setting and from the first page, I was set up to love that aspect. A lot of the references were things I recognized from articles and other sites. It made me smile and having it set in Mardi Gras was electrifying. Everything was written so vividly and I could picture it all in my head.

I also loved Mia Garcia’s writing style. She wrote the most vivid descriptions, talked about tough subjects but still wrote it all so beautifully. The writing style was easily my second favorite thing about the book. Despite the book not meeting my expectations, I might end up picking up another one of her books because of her writing.

I loved the book’s discussion and commentary on certain topics. Garcia touched on mental health, anxiety, depression and generally having to deal with life. Some of the things she wrote about felt so powerful and raw, you could feel the emotion on the page.

This book had so much potential, but it sadly didn’t live up to the hype. If you love New Orleans or books that take place over one day, I’d pick it up. If not, then this might not be the book for you. Personally, I had far too many issues with the book but as a somewhat short read, I didn’t lose too much.

I give Even If The Sky Falls a 2 out of 5 stars.

 

One thought on “‘Even If The Sky Falls’ spoiler-free review

  1. Pingback: August Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

