‘Since You’ve Been Gone’ spoiler review

18189606

Last month, I read Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson so I figured why not start on the rest of her books? Easily her most popular one is Since You’ve Been Gone so I decided to tackle that one next. It was a contemporary summer read and much like her previous one, this book was a lot different than I imagined.

As usual, I’m going to start with what I disliked about the book. I actually loved almost all the characters expect for Sloane. I know her and Emily were best friends, but she came off as pretentious to me. Who leaves their best friend, writes them a letter and then tells them they never wanted to talk to them again? I didn’t understand why she did that and I’m glad Emily put her in her place.

The other thing I didn’t understand was Frank not telling Emily the truth. It would have been a much cleaner plotline and made more sense. Personally, I wasn’t a big fan of the ending because I loved Dawn and Emily’s friendship so I wanted to see the two reconnect or Dawn to forgive Emily. Other than those few choices, the book was enjoyable.

With all the bad out of the way, let’s move onto the good. Like I mentioned above, I did love all the characters especially Emily and Frank. Emily was a sweet and caring girl who was overshadowed by her friend but came into her own. It was awesome seeing the character development of Emily and watching her grow as a person.

Frank was such a sweet, goofy and lovable character. I just wanted to hug him and he became so much more than I originally thought. Cooper was basically just comedy relief but I grew to like him and Dawn as well. Emily’s family was a little bit strange, but whose family isn’t?

The relationship between Emily and Frank was adorable. The one thing I didn’t like was how Matson handled him having a girlfriend. She brought it up multiple times but then didn’t mention their breakup until it was too late. It was weird but their relationship progressed at a realistic level. I also loved the relationship between the group along with Emily and Beckett.

The book gave a lot of great commentary on what it is to be a friend, becoming your own person and not relying so much on someone. It talked about a wide variety of topics too including family, anxiety, and loss. The book felt like such a sweet and summery read, perfect for sitting on the beach and getting swept up in the story. I have to say, I probably prefer this one over Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour.

I give Since You’ve Been Gone 4.5 out of 5 stars.

 

One thought on “‘Since You’ve Been Gone’ spoiler review

  1. Pingback: August Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

