‘Love & Gelato’ spoiler-free review

413-A4dbSeL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

I wasn’t really sure what to expect from Love & Gelato. I became interested after reading a blurb at Walmart and I downloaded it a few weeks later. Like I mentioned in my previous review, I’m waiting on reading Eliza and Her Monsters so I decided to move onto this after A Quiet Kind of Thunder.

Without giving away too much, here’s the blurb from the back, “Lina is spending the summer in Tuscany, but she isn’t in the mood for Italy’s famous sunshine and fairy-tale landscape. She’s only there because it was her mother’s dying wish that she get to know her father. But what kind of father isn’t around for sixteen years? All Lina wants to do is get back home.”

Now onto what I disliked about the book. There wasn’t much actually. This book had a lot of positives and very few negatives. I didn’t like the plot with Lina’s father, the character of Mimi and the kind of love triangle. It was such a weird side plot to include in the story and it made me uncomfortable.

Those few things were my only complaints because this book was so darn good. I loved all the characters but my favorite was Lina. She was such a relatable character and a realistic teenage girl. She had a lot of hardships and she wasn’t afraid to break down or be emotional. She was also an extremely strong character too so she really won me over.

Then there was Ren, the lovable boy-next-door. He was a charming and lovely character who made me smile. He was sometimes a butthole, but he’s a teenage boy. You can’t expect too much from them. I also liked his group of friends….they all acted like real teenagers which are rare.

There were a few adult characters and I loved almost every single one of them. My favorite was probably either Howard or Lina’s mother. Each had a large role in the story and it was awesome to see their stories interweave with the rest of the plot.

Her mother’s journal is a huge part of the story and I loved reading the entries. I like to journal and I’m a sucker when a book includes journal entries. I’m so happy Evans Welch included it in the book.

Speaking of Evans Welch, she had such a fun and lively writing style. That’s probably the reason why I flew through the book. It was simple but felt authentic to how teenagers would talk and act. While the book was a little cliche, I actually loved it more than I thought.

I give Love & Gelato a 4 out of 5 stars.

 

One thought on “‘Love & Gelato’ spoiler-free review

  1. Pingback: August Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

