Top 5 Tuesday: 5 buzzwords that make me want to read a book

To be completely honest, I wasn’t sure how to take this prompt. I wasn’t really sure what buzzwords drew me into books or what buzzwords were. Eventually, after a little research, I was able to come up with some of my favorites. Hopefully, this is what Shanah had in mind 🙂

1. Princess

Princess has always been one of my favorite things. I loved reading about princesses when I was younger, still love Disney movies and my boyfriend used to call me princess when we were first dating. If I see princess in the title of a book, I’m automatically intrigued and want to pick the book up and at least, look at it.  I read The Princess Diaries when I was younger and loved it. I read Princess Princess Ever After and The Princess Diarist this year.

2. Sun

Maybe it’s because my favorite season’s summer but the word sun always jumps out to me on a book. The sun makes me think of being warm and spending my days outside, reading. Either way, the word “sun” always jumps out to me on a book. I have yet to read The Sun Is Also A Star and I’ll Give You the Sun but I’m looking forward to finally cracking them open. I had to read Half of A Yellow Sun in college, but it was such a solid book I ended up keeping it and plan on rereading it.

3. Love

I’m sure a lot of people have a thing for this word. Once I see love, I’m automatically drawn in and I’m ready for a love story. While that isn’t always true, most of it there’s some romance involved. There’s just something about seeing the word love in a title that gets me excited to read and become invested. I have yet to read The Love That Split The World and I’ve heard mixed reviews but the title is cool nonetheless. The latter two, To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before and Love & Gelato were some of my favorites of the year so maybe this buzzword is my best bet.

4. Me

Another weirdly simple one, but it always gets my attention. Even though the book isn’t actually talking about “me,” it kind of feels like it is. It’s asking me a question or trying to get me to find out what’s going on. It’s sort of like a challenge so I want to find out what’s going to happen. I love all of Mindy Kaling’s books even the one without me in the title so do yourself a favor and read her books.

The other two books I haven’t read yet, but Piecing Me Together is one I want to read before the end of 2017. Tell Me Three Things seems interesting and probably will be on my TBR in the next month or two.

5. Letter

Writing letters is one of my favorite things. I used to write letters to my family, my friends and lately, my boyfriend. I also sometimes write letters in my journal but reading letters in books is one of my favorite things. “Letters” jumped out at me in the first two books, but after reading the description on the last book, I decided to give it a chance and I’m glad. I’m not sure if buzzwords count as part of blurbs on books but I’ll just use it for this one.

This is a little bit difficult to come up with, but I’m glad I sat down and figured it out. I don’t actually buy that many books, but when I get a chance to look around, I usually target books with these words in the titles. What are some of your favorite buzzwords when you’re looking for a new book? 🙂

You can check out Shanah’s response at The Bionic Bookworm and she’ll have everyone else linked so you can read theirs too.

 

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Tuesday: 5 buzzwords that make me want to read a book

  1. librariahn says:

    Too fun! My hot button word would have to be WILD. A Wild Sheep Chase (one of my all time faves), Wildlife, The Wild Robot, Wild, Into the Wild, and c’mon… Where the Wild Things Are! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

