Huge July Wrap-Up

July was a huge month for me. I didn’t have a huge TBR, but I read a ton of books that I didn’t actually write reviews for. I’ll probably write a few mashup reviews of some of my favorites or maybe some recommendations of contemporaries. Either way, let’s get into the books I read during the month of July.

This month, I made a TBR with 6 books on it. I read all 6 of the books. My favorite was definitely When Dimple Met Rishi, Lysette and I’s book club pick. I won’t give away any spoilers, but it’s such a lovely contemporary with a lot of diversity and a great cast of characters.

Flame In The Mist was another favorite for me this month and my introduction to Reneé Ahdieh. I’m pleased to say I’ll be reading the follow-up to this book and some of her other works. As much as I wanted to love Fireworks, it sadly missed the mark but I did like Katie Cutugno’s writing style so there’s something. I read Anna and the French Kiss, a somewhat hyped book that left a lot to be desired. The last book on my TBR was Windfall by Jennifer E. Smith, easily my biggest surprise of the month.

Oops, I forgot Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson. This was another surprising favorite of mine and a great summer read.

This is where it gets a little bit messy because I read a lot more than I anticipated. I read 21 more books on top of that including graphic novels, YA novels, an autobiography, poetry and a few comic series.

For graphic novels, I read some of the more popular ones and I loved them all. First was Nimona. Then I moved into Through the WoodsIn Real Life, and Anya’s Ghost. I loved all three of them with my favorite probably being In Real Life. Each was beautifully illustrated and told compelling stories. I might do a full post just on graphic novels so I won’t give away too much here.

The other graphic novels I read were Seconds and Princess Princess Ever AfterMoving onto comic series, I read the Thor (2014) aka the female Thor. It was an amazing and compelling read. I read the extremely hyped Lumberjanes and I can see exactly why it’s hyped. I fell in love with it and I couldn’t have been happier I checked it out. For my last comic series, I read Goldie Vance and it was a gem.

For my one poetry book, I read Mouthful of Forevers by Clementine von Radics. I actually didn’t like it at all. Her writing was nice, but everything made me so depressed. Maybe it just didn’t click with me. Either way, I have a few other poetry books I look forward to reading.

For the autobiography, I read Lily Collins’ Unfiltered: No Shame, No Regrets, Just Me. It was a pretty good book. I liked getting to learn a little more about her but sometimes it felt a little bit boring. Overall, it wasn’t a bad book but maybe I had too high of expectations after reading Mindy Kaling’s. That being said, it only made me appreciate Collins more.

Before I get to YA, I read one middle-grade book. It was called Amina’s Voice and it was about an Indian-American girl living her life. This book was a great read and one I would highly recommend it. It covered such deep and extensive topics, at times, I forgot I was reading a middle-grade novel. It was extremely short, but something I can see myself going back to.

As for YA, I read a handful of books and I actually liked most of them. I’ll talk about some of my least favorites first, though. Unspeakable seemed like a good read but was boring and I almost DNFed it, but I stuck it out. The book took a weird turn and I couldn’t help thinking it could have been done differently.

The other two books I didn’t like were The One Memory of Flora Banks and Dumplin. I had high hopes for both, but neither seemed to deliver. As for the One Memory of Flora Banks, it was such a weird story that only got weirder as it went on. The plot twists especially made me dislike the book and I just don’t feel like getting into too much detail.

Honestly, I wanted to love Dumplin. Unfortunately, I actually hated it. The main character was unlikable and there were some plot lines that never got resolved. Everything about the book ended up being entirely different and let’s just say, I’m glad I read it in one sitting.

Now for the YA books I liked. Love Letters To The Dead was an awesome read and reminded me a lot of We Are OkayIt was an enjoyable read, but not one I fell in love with. The same goes for Under Rose-Tainted Skies. It was an enjoyable read and it portrayed anxiety in such a real way. It also included agoraphobia which I can’t say much about it but it was a little slow-paced for my liking.

The other one I liked was Shuffle Repeat by Jen Klein. It was a cute book, but a little bit predictable. It sort of reminded me of something by Kasie West but it was a fun and fluffy summer read.

Finally at the home stretch with books I loved this month. Easily, one of the best was Wing Jones. I saw this book got talked about a few months ago and I’m so glad I picked it up. The book made me happy and sad and angry and everything all at once so go out there and read it.

Zenn Diagram was a contemporary with a twist. I loved the two main characters and their weird connection. The book was so much more than what I had anticipated and an underrated one at that. Lastly, I loved Things I Should Have Known. The book touched on so many things was an enjoyable read and featured characters with autism to varying degrees, making it such a refreshing difference.

Those were all the books I read in July and I can’t wait for August. I’ll have a TBR coming shortly, but I knew this post was going to be long enough. Be on the look-out for my TBR soon 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

