‘When Dimple Met Rishi’ spoiler review and my thoughts

This was easily one of my most anticipated releases of the year. I’ve been hearing a lot about it and I was so happy Lysette and I picked it for our book club. Without giving away too much, I was in love with When Dimple Met Rishi and I consider it a must-read for anyone who loves YA or contemporaries. 🙂

For each month/book club pick, Lysette and I will be coming up with 5 questions to answer with the responses on our respective blogs. Before we get into the questions, I’ll give a small review and then lastly, my rating.

When Dimple Met Rishi was an amazing book. I could read it over and over again. I loved the setting, loved the characters and the plot. It gave the giddy feeling of falling in love all over again like good YA does. My favorite characters were obviously Dimple and Rishi as unlikely a pair as they were. The humor in the book actually made me laugh and the book never really had a low point.

There will be spoilers from this point on! 

There weren’t many things I’d change about the book. I wasn’t the biggest fan of the subplot between Dimple’s roommate and Rishi’s brother. It kind of caught me off-guard and felt forced. The other issue I had was with the dumbest group winning the grand prize. I know it was realistic, but it didn’t make me feel any better. Other than that, the book was pretty much everything I had hoped for and more.

1. Was When Dimple Met Rishi worth the hype?

Every bit of it, honestly. As soon as I started reading, I was hooked and I couldn’t wait to see what happened. It was basically a typical YA love story but one with so much more behind it. There were nods to Indian culture, family relationships, romantic relationship, friendship and growing up. It could even be called a coming-of-age story, the hype was so worth it.

2. What app would you develop if you went to the program?

I really loved Dimple’s idea for an app. It was something practical yet fun which rarely applies to health care. An app I would love to create would be for writers and it would include your own personal editor. All you’d have to do would be to make an account, submit your work and get sent feedback.

There would be a few possibilities on how it would work. There could be an automated editor like run by a computer or you could have a real person doing it. It would allow you to not only become a stronger writer but also give a chance to network and grow more comfortable with someone editing your work. This would probably be a free app and one people could use for all types of writing.

3. Who do you identify most with in the book?

I was having a hard time trying to figure this one out. At times, I identify with Dimple and other times, Rishi. If I had to choose one though, it would have to be Dimple. I’m always someone who wants to work towards a great career and find my own path like she does. Unlike Rishi, my boyfriend and I don’t have plans on getting married anytime soon or maybe even ever. We’re both focused on getting everything else situated before we start making plans together for the future. Dimple’s kind of spunky and sarcastic like I am plus she wears glasses pretty similar to mine so we’d bond over that haha 🙂

4. What was your favorite moment in the book?

This book made me so happy the whole time I was reading. There were so many moments where I wanted to just scream from happiness. The more I think about it, the hardest it is to choose just one. Obviously, the ending was amazing and one of my favorite parts.

My favorite part was probably Dimple and Rishi practicing for the talent show. It was really where their relationship went to the next level and you started to see them becoming even more comfortable with each other. Plus hearing about them on stage made it feel real. I felt like I could actually see them even though I obviously couldn’t lol.

5. Are you a hopeless romantic like Rishi?

Oh Rishi, you were a sweet and awesome guy. I like to think of myself as a hopeless romantic because I always want a happy ending. As far as romance goes, I like to see the light at the end of the tunnel and always have hope for everything working out. It’s a curse really because then you want the bad things to work out and then they don’t and you’re crushed. Thankfully, I’m in a great and loving relationship so I’m free to be the hopeless romantic in the relationship.

I give When Dimple Met Rishi 5 out of 5 stars!

 

3 thoughts on “‘When Dimple Met Rishi’ spoiler review and my thoughts

  1. Pingback: Huge July Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

