Unhauling my downloaded books

When I first started downloading books, I was extremely excited. I went crazy and completely overboard. I’ve downloaded almost 300 books and I know there’s no way I’m going to read them all. Since I know I’ll eventually have to make more room, I’m starting to unhaul them and putting others on the top of my TBR.

It’s hard, but I know it’s for the best. There’s a lot of books out there and I have so many I still want to read. Without further ado, these are the books I’m unhauling from my downloaded folder.

Before I start deleting stuff, there are 50 books to start out. That’s not even including another huge folder I have of downloaded books but one thing at a time. I’m going to try to get my number down between 35-40. 40 isn’t a great number but one I’ll be satisfied with.

1. The Hating Game by Sally Thorne

I downloaded this book, because it was popular on booktube. I heard a few of my favorite booktubers talking about it and I decided to give it a chance. In the months I’ve had it, I haven’t even though about picking it up or planned to in the near future. It was just a spur of the moment choice so I decided to unhaul it. It was going to sit in my folder for many months anyway.

2. This Is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith

As much as I loved Windfall, I want to start fresh with Jennifer E. Smith. I’ve heard a lot of questionable things about her previous books. I know this one will be another stuck in my folder for months. I was hesitant to even start reading it so why bother? Another book to unhaul.

3. Whisper To Me by Nick Lake

The main reason I was on the fence about this book was how long it is. I have a relatively short attention span and reading an almost 600-page book isn’t something I’m interested in. Then I looked at the reviews for the book. Some were positive but a lot were negative and I accidentally saw a spoiler, ruining the entire book. I was irritated by then and unhauling was the next best thing.

4. Hunted by Meagan Spooner

I picked this book up because it was a BATB retelling. Dumb, I know but it sounded cool when I heard about it. I haven’t thought about it since and the more I look at it, the less I want to read it. I’m sure it’s a great fantasy read but I’m trying to catch up on my contemporaries and I can only handle so much fantasy so off to the recycle bin.

5. Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between by Jennifer E. Smith

Another Jennifer E. Smith book I forgot about. I don’t actually remember anything about this book or remember even downloading. That’s sad so like my previous ones, there’s no use in keeping it. I doubt I would have ever picked it up and it would have been gone anyways so another one bites the dust.

6. Love Virtually by Daniel Glattauer

An adult book on my list? Who would have even thought? This is another example of me downloading a book and never thinking or looking at it again. While the premise sounded cute, I have a few others similar to it. As much as I love an online relationship since mine started as one, I’m more pumped to read Alex, Approximately. This is getting to be a reoccurring thing, me just endlessly downloading without a second thought…maybe I need help or to pick up The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up again.

7. Losing It by Cora Carmack

This book sounded intriguing at first. I always love a good story involving a similar plot to the movie, To-Do List. Then I reread the book description and was reminded of the student-professor relationship. The more I thought about it, the more I started to feel weird about it and then I looked up the book, finding out there’s a whole series. For now, I’m just going to stick with standalone and maybe jump into a series later.

8. Fairytale Beginnings by Holly Martin

The only thing I remember about this book was the mention of Disney. Sadly, the book seems more like a fluffy read and one I’d finish in one sitting. There’s nothing wrong with that, but it just looks like something I’d end up brushing off anyways. Plus from the blurb, it seems like there’s a lot more going on and I was imagining something completely different from the title.

 

Sadly, I think this is where I’ve hit a wall. Looking through the rest of the books, I plan on getting to them so the pile will continue to decrease. Honestly, I’ve read a lot more books than I planned this month already so a few more won’t hurt. After looking over them, I already have a few picked out so here goes nothing.

My hope for July is I can get my pile down between 30-35. It’s kind of ambitious but with how fast and how much I’ve been reading lately, it shouldn’t be hard. Fingers crossed 🙂

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Unhauling my downloaded books

Leave a Reply

