‘Windfall’ spoiler review and my thoughts

32048554

Image Acquired via Good Reads

Windfall was the book I was most anxious about on my TBR. I had heard questionable things about Jennifer E. Smith as an author and I was nervous to finally read one of her books. After the first few chapters, my skepticism started to wander away and I became engrossed in the story.

This is your spoiler warning. I’ll be talking about spoilers from Windfall by Jennifer E. Smith.

As usual, I’ll talk about what I didn’t like first. Two characters, in particular, bothered me: Sawyer and Charlie. They were minor characters, but they still got on my nerves. At first, I really wanted to like Sawyer. He seemed like a sweet and fun guy, someone who Alice could be with. Then he turned into a complete douche and treated her less like a person and more like a commodity. He acted like Alice deserved to be with him just because he was nice, uh no thank you.

I’m not sure why I need to go into why I disliked Charlie. He was such a jerk and it made me sad to think about Teddy going through that. I’ve never dealt with a situation like that personally, but having your dad come in and out of your life like that must be difficult.

At times, I had issues with how Smith portrayed Teddy. He seemed like a nice guy and a good friend and then he would act like a complete jerk. It really shocked me when he made comments about Alice’s deceased parents. The more I thought about those moments, it made my stomach turn. I know it was said in the heat of the moment, but things like that should be left off-limits especially by friends.

I loved all the adult minor characters. I loved Teddy’s mom, Katharine. She was such a loving mother and always put Teddy first. Then there were Jake and Sofia who accepted Alice as their own. It might not have been an ideal situation for anyone but the way Smith wrote them made my heart happy.

While Alice is the main character, Leo and Teddy are mentioned a lot. Leo was easily my favorite of the two. He was happy-go-lucky and anytime he came up in the story, it usually puts a smile on my face. He was a minor character, but I really connected with him especially when Alice shared her memories with him.

Then there was Teddy. As I mentioned above, I was on the fence with Teddy. He was a likable character sure, but other times, was insufferable. He let the money change him and I didn’t blame Alice for being mad at him. He was being a complete jerk and the money only made it worse. I’m glad he redeemed himself in the end, though.

Alice was easily my favorite character. She was extremely different and made me think a lot about my own choices. She was smart, caring, insightful and amazing. Alice was one character who will stick with me for a long time. I connected with her on such a deep level.

I don’t really have much to complain about with this book. I liked the writing style and how the story played out. I might have changed a few things, but it wasn’t a bad story. It was a lot better than I had originally excepted. The main issue I had was with Teddy and how he flip-flopped between being a nice guy and a jerk. Easily the worst example was him before, during and after the boat race. I wished

The book was a big surprise for me and I’d recommend to anyone looking for a summer read or someone who loves the lottery. I was looking for both so it’s a win-win for me. Is that too cheesy? Oh well, I had fun with this book and I hope you do/did too 🙂

I give Windfall 4 out of 5 stars.

 

 

One thought on “‘Windfall’ spoiler review and my thoughts

  1. Pingback: Huge July Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

