Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag

Much like my fellow book bloggers, I saw this tag pop up on Youtube. Then I was tagged so I knew I had to do it. Thank you to bookneeders for tagging me. You can check out her lovely blog and her responses to the question too 🙂

I’d also like to thank Ericka for making that gorgeous featured image. She also created the banner for my blog. She just made her own blog if you want to check it out. All the free promos aside, here are my responses to the Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag for 2017!

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2017?

f043712f-4655-4c8a-b60f-fca1e4c6ca9f

Image Acquired from Amazon

As soon as I saw this question, I knew what book I was going to chose. Could it have been anything other than The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas? This book was everything I had hoped for/wanted and the reason why I got back into reading this year. If you haven’t read The Hate U Give, you are sorely missing out and you need to read it. If you only read one book from this list, read this one.

2. Best Sequel You’ve Read So Far in 2017?

51Ql2tb9FrL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

Image Acquired from Amazon

Sadly, I think this is the only sequel I’ve read in 2017. I think most of the other books I’ve read have been stand-alone. Regardless, P.S. I Still Love You was a good book but not my favorite of the series. The To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before trilogy is definitely one of my favorite series, though. It’s such a cute idea and it can get a bit clichey and tropey but it’s a solid series and a perfect one to read in summer.

3. New Release You Haven’t Read Yet, But Want To?

 

51sX51BGRKL._SX345_BO1,204,203,200_

Image Acquired from Amazon

I have a ton of books I want to read and haven’t yet. It was a huge struggle trying to pick just one but I decided to go with Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesa Zappia. I’ve heard such positive things about this book and it’s about fandom so there’s no way I won’t love it.

4. Most Anticipated Release For Second Half of 2017?

21125680._SY540_

Image Acquired via Amazon                 

I actually have a ton of books I’m looking forward to in the second-half of 2017. The one I’m looking forward to most is Wonder Woman Warbringer by Leigh Bardugo. I’ve never read one of her books yet so that will be interesting. I love Wonder Woman and I especially loved the film so a book about her is going be amazing I’m sure.

I tried to add more pictures but I couldn’t figure that out lol. I’m also looking forward to Moxie by  Jennifer Mathieu, They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera, The Nowhere Girls by Amy Reed and Things I’m Seeing Without You by Peter Bognanni.

5. Biggest disappointment?

Fireworks_JKT

Image Acquired via katiecotugno.com

It pains me to even put this one on here, but sadly I didn’t like this book as much as I had hoped. I went into it, thinking it was going to be a great story about female friendship and it wasn’t. Everything I had hoped and wanted from this book didn’t happen. Fireworks had the potential to be great but for me, it ended up being a miss instead.

6. Biggest surprise?

34281321

My biggest surprise of the year has to be We Are Okay by Nina LaCour. I actually wasn’t all that excited or interested in reading this book at first. Once I started reading, I couldn’t put it down. I thought I was going into a fluffy book but it turned out to be heavy and emotional, making me like it even more. It was easily one of my favorites of the year.

7. Favorite New Author (Debut or New To You)?

28458598

Image Acquired via Good Reads

There was no way I wasn’t going to include When Dimple Met Rishi on here. This is my first book by Sandhya Menon and her debut novel, too. I loved Menon’s writing style and how she was able to shift the tone of the book seamlessly. Her writing was funny too, something writers can struggle with. I’m definitely excited to see what she writes next and I’ll be reading all her novels from now on.

8. Newest Fictional Crush?

This is incredibly difficult because all YA boys are swoon worthy. As much as I love my baby, I’ll have to pick at least one. I think I’m going to go with Reid from The Upside of Unrequited. He’s so dorky and shy and cute, I could just eat him up haha 🙂

9. Newest Favorite Character?

Hmmm, this is pretty difficult one. I’ve read a lot of books and I’ve loved a lot of those characters. The one I’m going to go with is Dimple from When Dimple Met Rishi. She was a strong female character who loved what she did and wouldn’t give it up for anything. I just fell in love with her from the first page.

10. Book That Made You Cry?

f043712f-4655-4c8a-b60f-fca1e4c6ca9f

Image Acquired from Amazon

I wasn’t planning on using a duplicate answer, but I couldn’t think of another one. I was sobbing throughout reading The Hate U Give. It was such an emotional read but one I would read over and over again. This book touches on so many sensitive and relevant topics and gives great commentary on the world.

11. Book That Made You Happy?

81uGB-QT1hL

Image Acquired via Amazon

Geekerella by Ashley Poston was such a feel-good read. It was full of fandom, love and a geeky Cinderella retelling. What more could you want? It had me smiling almost the whole time I was reading and it was one of my favorites so far this year.

12. Favorite Book To Movie Adaptation You Saw This Year?

Sadly, I haven’t watched any. I was planning on seeing Everything Everything but it never came anywhere close to me. I didn’t get to see it so I can’t say I watched any based on a book.

13. Favorite Review You’ve Written This Year?

This sounds bad, but my review of Everything Everything has been my favorite one. It was the first one I wrote and I didn’t really know what to do, but I love it. I’m actually trying to call back to it more because I loved it that much.

14. Most Beautiful Book You Bought or Received So Far This Year?

I don’t actually own physical copies minus a few books so I don’t have many to reference so I’m not really sure lol 🙂

15. What Books Do You Need To Read By The End of The Year?

Where do I even begin? I have so many books I want to read before the end of the year but I’ll try to keep my list relatively short.

I want to read Alex, ApproximatelyWhat I LostEliza and Her MonstersTash Hearts Tolstoy and You’re Welcome Universe among many many others.

I’m tagging Lysette, The Galaxy Girls, Maram, and Ericka. If you’ve already done this tag, feel free to ignore me but I don’t have anyone else to tag really soooo 🙂

 

 

5 thoughts on “Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag

  1. Joana @ Bookneeders says:

    Awesome answers! 😍 And I would answer the same in many! 😍
    I really want to get to Eliza and Her Monsters and I’m starting it pretty soon in the beginning of August!
    And I loooooved The Hate U Give! It was so freaking good >.<
    I have yet to read Dimple Met Rishi and Geekerella, but I am getting to the first one soon I think.
    I NEED Wonder Woman Warbringer! I am so excited for that book and it missing still one month for it to arrive… But I'm already extremely excited for it!
    And I read all the books in the To All the Boys I've Loved Before trilogy and LOVE them! 😍 I was really pleasantly surprised by the third one actually! It was such an amazing end!

    Like

Leave a Reply

