‘Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour’ spoiler review and my thoughts

7664334

Image Acquired via Good Reads

I wasn’t actually sure what to think of this book. As my first Morgan Matson book, I had high expectations and surprisingly, it surpassed all of them. Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour is one of my favorite reads of the summer so far.

Like I usually do, here’s your spoiler warning and such. I’ll be talking about spoilers, major plot points and general stuff from Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour

Before I start talking about everything I loved, I’m going to get the negative stuff out of the way. One thing I noticed was Morgan Matson really liked her detail and sometimes, it was too much. It was as if she had to make a short point long no matter what. That’s one of the reasons why it took me so long to get into the story. Once I got past the first 50 or 60 pages, I was fine.

At first, I liked the character of Lucien. He seemed like a sweet nice guy for the most part, but this romance with Amy was weird. I’m not sure what to call it, but everything about it felt awkward. I thought the plot point of Bronwyn taking all of Amy’s clothes was a little exaggerated because I don’t know anyone who would actually do that?

Last but certainly not least was Amy’s mom. To me, she didn’t act like how a mom should and was emotionally cold and distant towards his children. It was so offputting to me and every time she came up, I couldn’t wait to stop hearing about it. I know she was worried about Amy but cutting off her credit card could have been dangerous. She was one of the few characters in the book I found no redeeming qualities in like Roger’s ex-girlfriend. Those were just a few things I didn’t enjoy about the book so now onto the good things.

This book was SO MUCH more than I imagined when I first picked it up. I thought I was picking up a cute and fluffy summer read, not an emotional road trip ride. I wasn’t mad about it, though. It made the book more intriguing to me and actually, I was planning on brushing this book off but I’m glad I didn’t.

I loved Amy. She was such a sweet character who was experiencing grief over her father’s death and believed it to be her fault. Grief is such a difficult emotion to convey especially in literature but Matson did it flawlessly. I felt my heart strings being tugged on during Amy’s flashbacks and it made Amy a relatable character. Her tremendous character growth throughout was probably what I enjoyed most about her.

Then there was Roger. He was trying to get back together with his ex-girlfriend and trying to get over her. Then once he finally finds her, he decides he doesn’t need her and I loved that moment. He grew as a character too and he was the bright spot in some points of the book. When Amy got down, he was always there to pick her back up and made her feel special.

I loved all of Roger’s friends. Each time they were mentioned, they put a smile on my face especially Drew. I started off disliking Amy’s twin, Charlie but I eventually came around and started to appreciate him. He was going through a lot and wanted someone to be there.

While Matson’s writing style was a little meh for me, what she wrote was beautiful especially in terms of quotes. There were so many lovely quotes throughout the book and it made the book that more enjoyable. I also loved the little scraps throughout the book such as pictures, receipts and Amy’s scrapbook entries. It made me smile and educated me on some states especially their mottos.

Last but certainly not least, the playlists. This book had full playlists for the trip and it made me wish I had listened to them. If you get a chance to do it while you’re reading, do it. I’m sure it would have made reading all the more awesome. Adding the playlist was a cute touch and one I appreciated every time I stumbled upon one.

Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour was everything I had hoped for and more. If you’re looking for a fun, summer book, look no further. This one is such a lovely pick for the beach or for just reading in summer. It will make you laugh and cry all on the same page.

I give Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour 4 out of 5 stars.

 

One thought on “‘Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour’ spoiler review and my thoughts

  1. Pingback: Huge July Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

