June Wrap-up and July TBR

It’s hard to believe June is over and it’s July now. Summer is almost halfway over and all I’ve done is read books and went to work. Oh well, that’s what being a grown up is and I’m not mad at it haha.

First up is my June Wrap-up. I’ll be talking about all the books I read and I’ll link to my reviews of each. I won’t be going into too much detail since I’ve written reviews for almost all of the books I read. Then I’ll move into my July TBR so get something to drink, it’s going to be a long post!

In June, I read 10 books. I read all the books on my TBR which included Everything EverythingSimon Vs. The Homo Sapiens AgendaQueens Of GeekP.S. I Like You and True Letters from a Fictional Life. I thoroughly enjoyed most of what I had on my TBR but if you want to know my true thoughts, you can click on each one and check it out.

The other 5 additional books I read were A Voice In the Mountain, a book detailing the kidnapping of Peggy Ann Bradnick from her POV. For those who aren’t familiar with the case, it’s a good way to educate yourself and learn about a forgotten piece of history at least for Pennsylvania.

Then I moved back to my comfort zone of YA books. Next, I read The Sky Is Everywhere, my first by Jandy Nelson but certainly not my last. Followed by How It Feels To Fly, one of my favorites I’d read so far and then came Life In Outer Space. Let’s not talk about this one but to put it plainly, I wasn’t a fan. The final book I read was We Are Okay, another one of my favorites and my introduction to Nina Lacour.

Overall, I think I had a pretty productive month in June. With 5 books over my TBR, I ended up reading twice what I had imagined. As for my reading goals, I’m not sure how well I accomplished them. I did set aside some time for reading at night usually after work so I guess I accomplished it. I still have yet to come up with a solid reading routine but maybe next month?

With June out of the way, let’s move to July. For this month, I have a few popular books I want to get to, a book club read with Lysette and some books I might order. Either way, I’m going to try to make a huge dent in my downloaded books folder.

1. When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

When Dimple Met Rishi

Image Acquired via Entertainment Weekly

I feel like the only person on planet Earth who hasn’t read this book. Finally, I’m going to read it with Lysette for our book club this month. I’m sure you all know the plot so I won’t get into too much detail about it. All the reviews have been positive and it’s being praised as one of the best of the year for YA.

When Dimple Met Rishi has been on the top of my list for summer releases and I’m so glad I was able to find it. I have high hopes for this book and I can’t wait to actually dive into it. Hopefully, by the time this is posted, I’ll be starting on it! 🙂

2. Flame In The Mist by Reneé Ahdieh

flame-in-the-mist

Image Acquired via Entertainment Weekly

The second book on my TBR for July is Flame In The Mist by Reneé Ahdieh. This is another of the more popular books I have yet to read. Slated as a Mulan retelling at first, I’m actually really excited to read this book. It’s also going to check off one of my Summer Bucket List goals of diving into fantasy.

Even though I don’t know that much about the book, it seems like a fun and compelling read to break up the contemporaries. It will also be my introduction to Reneé Ahdieh and I hope I love it because I have her other books downloaded. This could actually be one of my surprise favorite reads of the summer, who knows?

3. Fireworks by Katie Cotugno

Fireworks_JKT

Image Acquired via katiecotugno.com

Surprisingly, this is one of the books I actually have a physical copy of. Sometimes, it’s good when you can’t find a book online. This book is another popular one and one I’ve heard a lot about from Lysette and Kristin of Super Space Chick. Since those are such lovely ladies, I figured why not pick this book up?

Kristin described it as a homage to the 90’s about two best friends, trying to start a girl band and there’s a lot of talk about boy bands. Those are all things I love so I knew I had to pick this one up at Target. I’ve never read Katie Cotugno either so this will be my first time seeing what she’s all about.

Overall, this book seems like a fun summer read and something less heavy after reading Flame In The Mist. I’m so happy I actually have a physical copy this time and I might be looking into getting more soon? 😉

4. Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

7664334

Image Acquired via Good Reads

I wasn’t actually sure what I wanted to read next so I chose something a little bit on the fluffy side and the summer side. Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour is another book I don’t know much about. It was mentioned in a few good books for road trips videos and I wanted something summery and light.

I’ve never read Morgan Matson books but I’ve heard mixed reviews. I’m not really sure what to think so I’m ready to make my own judgment. I think this is her first novel but she’s written two others I’m looking forward to reading. Overall, this book could be a hit or miss for me, but I’m willing to take a chance on it.

5. Windfall by Jennifer E. Smith

32048554

Image Acquired via Good Reads

I wasn’t actually sure if I was going to put this one on my TBR, but I thought what the heck? It’s a book about the lottery which I love and I’ve grown up loving so why not give it a chance? The worst that could happen is I hate it, right? haha

I’ve heard Jennifer E. Smith is an author you either really like or you dislike. I’ve never heard one of her books so only time will tell. This book seems a little bit different from most contemporaries so I’m not sure how I’ll feel about it. I was eventually going to read it so why wait any longer?

If you’ve ever read Windfall, make sure to leave a comment, letting me know what you thought and maybe some things to look out for?

6. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

539f074295f9e00a48a9735541535d24--stephanie-perkins-st-clair

Image Acquired via Pinterest

For my last book in July, I chose a series I’ve heard a lot about. I also know that you don’t have to read the books in any particular order but I wanted to start off with Anna and the French Kiss. It’s technically the “first” book in the series and one of the better of the three. Booktube is sort of split on the other two so we’ll see what I think.

This is another fluffy contemporary to finish out my list and something I can just get lost in. Even if I don’t love this book, I hope I can at least feel a little bit happy and giddy while reading it. Plus I love a good romance as you can tell by the rest of my list.

 

That’s my June Wrap-up and my July TBR. If you’ve read this far, I applaud you because I wrote a lot and was all over the place. Overall, I’m hoping that July is a good reading month for me and I can knock out more of my downloaded books folder.

What’s on your TBR for July? Any repeats from mine or similar books you want to recommend? 🙂

 

6 thoughts on “June Wrap-up and July TBR

  1. Joana @ Bookneeders says:

    I loooove Anna and the French Kiss! I hope you like it!😍
    I have Windfall, Flame in the Mist and When Dimple met Rishi in my TBR too and I can’t wait to get to them! Plus Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda and Queens of Geek, that I’ve seen you weren’t a fan of 😛
    I also really love Everything, Everything,
    Amazing list! Happy readings ^^

    Like

    • rebeccamills01 says:

      I’m so excited to start reading Anna and the French Kiss. I loved Flame in the Mist, I hope you like it too 🙂 Ha Queens of Geek wasn’t for me but you might end up liking it! Thank you, same to you 🙂 I checked out your TBR and you’re ambitious and I really really hope you love To All The Boys I’ve Loved before series, we’ll have to talk about it. It’s one of my favorites

      Liked by 1 person

      • Joana @ Bookneeders says:

        Yeees! I am starting it probably tomorrow or the day after! I’ve heard so many great things about them!!
        Anna and the French Kiss was one of the first contemporary books I ever read and what made me want to read more 🙂 I saw you didn’t enjoy it has much and I do have to agree that it is quite cliche 😛 the second book is less tho and normally people that didn’t like so much Anna’s book, they tend to prefer Isla… Are you going to continue?

        Like

      • rebeccamills01 says:

        Yes! You’ll have to let me know what you think about it, I think I read the entire series in a weekend and it flew by so fast. I couldn’t believe it was over. I actually think I’m going to after you said that. I was kind of on the fence about it but you convinced me. I’m not sure when I’m going to read it because I feel like I have a million books I still want to read lol

        Liked by 1 person

      • Joana @ Bookneeders says:

        I love them!!! 😍 They are so warm-hearted and just ADORABLE! I love the characters!! Why didn’t I read this before?! >.< This will for sure be re-read some time next year!
        Yeey! I hope you enjoy the next ones more!
        I feel you! I want to read so many that I start feeling stressed that I can't manage to read them all as I would want to! 😦

        Like

Leave a Reply

