Being hopeful in the despair of sports media

Earlier this summer, the biggest sports media company ESPN laid off a slew of workers, mostly journalists. Jane McManus was the name that made my eyes wide. She was part of the Trifecta and the other two members were safe. It was crazy to not think about her being there or to not read her articles on ESPNW, a platform she was instrumental in creating.

Then more recently, Fox Sports laid off almost all their journalists. Honestly, this is the layoff I didn’t understand. They laid off people so they could push their video content but it’s only hurting them. They’re not on top of the news anymore and don’t have anyone there to write up quick blurbs or news pieces. The more I think about it, the more frustrated I get so I’ll just move on.

All these recent layoffs hurt my heart and my head. My heart hurts for those who had their dream ripped away from them so soon. My heart hurts for them, their families and friends who have to dodge questions. My heart hurts for those feeling guilty that they weren’t the ones to go. My hearts just hurts, because sports media is a tough business to get into and an even tougher place to stay.

My head hurts thinking about these companies and their idea to get rid of such valuable and important writers. My head hurts, thinking about how these companies are going to spiral down without their talent. The mission for sports media wasn’t to become a completely digitalized world. It was about getting a chance to tell a story and get the truth out there. Now it seems like all anyone cares about is views and that’s extremely sad.

I might be at the bottom of the ladder now, but soon I won’t be. I’ll be using my platform to do good, tell a story and inform. I might only have a little bit of hope now, but this blog has made me all the more confident.

With all that being said, I’m going to shift my focus a little. I’ll still be talking about books and my life, but more about sports. I don’t want sports writing to die and I won’t be the one who goes down with it. I’ll keep writing my opinions about sports, teams, and players to anyone who will listen.

It might not mean much, but it’s what I love to do. I’ll be damned if I’m going to let someone else take that away from me. I might not have been affected by the layoffs, but it’s been a wake-up call for me. I’m going to use my voice to talk, rant and scream about sports to anyone and everyone.

 

Leave a Reply

