‘Life In Outer Space’ spoiler review and my thoughts

After reading How It Feels To Fly, I decided to go with my other roulette choice. I landed on Life In Outer Space and I didn’t know much about the book before I started. Going into it, I wish I would have checked out more reviews but nevertheless, I read it and I wasn’t impressed.

This is a spoiler warning. There will be spoilers from Life In Outer Space!

Before I start talking too negatively, let me talk about things I liked about the book. The one thing that I liked were all the pop culture references. It seemed like you couldn’t turn a page without seeing one or hearing about a movie. The other thing I really liked was the names of the titles. They usually went along with what the chapter was about and actually gave me something to look forward to.

As far as characters go, I loved Adrian, Mike and Allison. Even though they were supporting characters, they were the heart of the book. They actually made reading certain chapters bearable and brought some life to the story. The three were great friends and extremely nice/supportive of Sam when he didn’t deserve it. Plus the way Adrian forgave him so quickly after getting punched was amazing. I could never imagine that happening so fast in real life!

Now onto what I didn’t like about the book. First, I didn’t like the main character, Sam at all. He came off so pretentious and off-putting which is why I didn’t understand why Allison or Camilla was attracted to him. He didn’t have much of a personality and instead was basically just a nerdy, teenage boy. The other character I didn’t really like was Camilla because she was a

The other character I didn’t really like was Camilla because she was a maniac, pixie dreamgirl…Sam’s to be exact. From the first moment she was introduced, I knew the trope was coming especially when she talked about loving Warcraft. Everything about Camilla felt strange to me and for her to fall in love with Sam blindsided me.

Their romance felt so forced and tacked on at the end. It made me cringe a little to read their dialogue especially when Camilla’s declaring her love. The other thing reason why I didn’t like the ending is that the book was paced so slow. I almost DNFed it, because the beginning wasn’t keeping me interested and I predicted the entire plot as soon as she mentioned liking Warcraft.

I went into this book with high expectations and was ultimately disappointed. It reminded me of Queens Of Geek in the sense that I was waiting for something to happen. Then nothing ever did happen. I really wanted to love this book, but I couldn’t get past everything else.

If you’re into nerdy romance or pop culture, this book might be for you. Personally, it wasn’t my cup of tea but maybe it’s yours.

I give Life In Outer Space 2 out of 5 stars.

 

One thought on “‘Life In Outer Space’ spoiler review and my thoughts

Leave a Reply

