5 Fandom Friday: Songs of summer

It’s Friday and you know what that means? It’s 5 Fandom Friday and this week, the female geek bloggers are talking about songs for the summer. All I’m saying before I start is hopefully I can come up with 5 but I already have a few in mind.

I’m always up to hear suggestions on new music or songs or artists to check out. If you have some, feel free to leave some in the comments. You can also hit me up on Twitter too, but I’ll stop wasting time. Let’s talk about my 5 songs of summer!

1. I’m The One- DJ Khaled

One of my top favorite songs right now is “I’m The One” by DJ Khaled featuring Quavo, Chance the Rapper, Lil Wayne and Justin Bieber. The song doesn’t really have much substance, but it’s really fun and has a great beat.

This is a great summer song because it has fun lyrics, a fun beat and is something to dance to. My favorite verse in the song comes from Chance the Rapper but I don’t think anyone did badly. This song might not be something I’ll love in a year or two, but it makes me feel fun and I always get in a better mood when I listen to it.

It’s easily my top summer song for 2017. Just so you know, on the list I’ll be talking about songs that are currently popular and songs that remind me of summer for one reason or another so let’s move onto the second one.

2. Burnin Up- Jonas Brothers

If you know me in real life, then you already know. If you’re reading this though, you probably don’t but I’m a huge Jonas Brothers fan. I started loving the boys when I was a teenager and I haven’t ever let go of them.

Despite the band breaking up, I still listen to their music regularly. One of their best summer songs is “Burnin Up.” I don’t think I have to go into much more because you should already know. This song really makes me think of summer because I attended one of their concerts in 2008 and it always brings me back to that.

I know a lot of people on Twitter always talk about it and how iconic it is. It really is and if you haven’t heard it before, prepare for your life to change. Not really, but you’ll see what I mean 🙂

3. Most Girls- Hailee Steinfeld

Another song out of 2017, “Most Girls” is such a feel-good song and should be on everyone’s summer playlist. Performed by Hailee Steinfield, it only adds to her impressive list of singles and it makes me want to dance around my room like I’m in a romantic comedy.

The show focuses on the tired line “You’re not like most girls” and turns the idea on its head, celebrating girls and girl power. It always puts me in such a good mood and the perfect song to always lift my spirits. Despite its strong message, it’s also something light to listen to.

If you haven’t listened to “Most Girls,” it’s easily one of my favorite songs of the summer and makes me smile every time I hear it. Be sure to check it out!

4. Party In The USA-Miley Cyrus

I had a hard time trying to figure out my fourth song. It was between this song and a few from the Camp Rock soundtrack but I decided to go with “Party In The USA” by Miley Cyrus.

Before her dramatic transition, this was the peak, Miley Cyrus. She was signed to Hollywood Records and was making feel-good pop music still. This one always reminds me of summer, because I associate it with spending time with my aunt in Georgia and dancing to it in my room.

She might not be like this anymore, but this is my favorite Miley. She was making catchy and poppy songs which I love. Plus it’s a perfect song to listen to on the 4th of July and just a great summer song.

5. Bad Liar- Selena Gomez

Wrapping up my summer songs list is another song from this year. I didn’t love “Bad Liar” by Selena Gomez at first, but after a few listens, it grew on me. Then there’s the music video which is a combination of strange and cool.

This song is a lot different than anything she’s done before and not really that cheerful but that’s what I love about it. It’s catchy and still fun without being in your face and overly poppy. Sometimes, it’s kind of fun to listen to something a little bit different and mix it up.

If you want to join the female geek bloggers or take part in the 5 Fandom Friday, be sure to check out The Nerdy Girlie. That’s all I have for my 5 Fandom Friday so have a great weekend 🙂

 

One thought on “5 Fandom Friday: Songs of summer

Leave a Reply

