5 Fandom Friday: Summer Bucket List

Finally, I’m getting up a 5 Fandom Friday post! I actually skipped last week’s post because it would conflict with my prior writing commitments and I didn’t want to jeopardize that but this week’s prompt was a little bit different.

To be honest, I had no clue what a summer bucket list was. After further investigation (googling), it’s a list of activities you want to complete over the entire summer. We’re almost halfway through June so I better get started before I run out of time. Without further ado, here are my 5 summer bucket list activities.

1. Read 25 Books

Originally one of my goals before my birthday was to read 5 books. I’ve surpassed that goal quickly but I wanted to set a new challenge for myself. I want to read 25 books before the summer concludes or at least before I go on my cruise in September. With how quickly I’ve been reading, it’s likely I’ll be able to complete this goal.

Most of the books are YA or just contemporary books so reading them makes the summer more enjoyable. So far, I’m counting all the books I read in June as part of my list so I only have 21 more to go. It’s not the most exciting way to start off my bucket list, but my love for reading is reignited so why stop now?

2. Utilize my planner and journal

Journaling was such a huge part of my life for a few months until I started to slack off. I’m still slacking off now, but I want to get back into it. Journaling makes me feel so much better after a long day and I have a lot of supplies that need using up. Even if I don’t have a prompt, I still want to at least write about my day or get my feelings out. Plus it’s a great way to help me destress after a long day/night at work.

While journaling came pretty easy to me, I’ve never been great at using a planner. I tried to use one in college but never could do it consistently. This summer, I really want to try to use a planner to be able to balance work, writing, reading and family events along with whatever else I get into. Next year, I might look into getting a more thorough planner but for now, my dollar store one works.

3. Revisit an old series

When I was younger, I loved reading book series. I read The Hunger GamesNancy Drew, Sweet Valley High, and The Babysitters Club. I have a huge stack of Babysitters Club books sitting on my shelf and I really want to get back into them. I know they’re more of a middle-grade book but they have such a special place in my heart.

Rereading book is one of my favorite things to do. I don’t get to do it much anymore because I’m always reading new releases, but this summer I want to change that. It’s going to be a lot easier than downloading a book, too. I can just pick one off my shelf or go on eBay and find some for cheap. It will be a great alternative and a way to actually read what I have.

4. Take a chance on fantasy

Most of the YAs I’ve been reading are contemporaries or just fluffy books, I’m guaranteed to get some enjoyment out of. One genre I’ve steered clear of was fantasy and this summer, I’m going to change that.

There are some great fantasy series out there like what Sarah J. Maas and Cassandra Clare write, but I want something a little bit more low-key. My hope is to try to read one of Renee Ahdieh’s books since there’s been a lot of talk about Flame In The Mist and even though it’s not an exact Mulan retelling, it sounds interesting nonetheless. I’ve also heard great things about Leigh Bardugo, Marissa Meyer, and Maggie Stiefvater so I might give one of their books a chance.

Either way, I’d like to at least dip my toe into some fantasy books this summer. Even if I don’t enjoy them, giving them a try is a start. Who knows? Maybe I’ll fall in love with fantasy and realize how much I missed out.

5. Go thrifting and go to yard sales

One of my favorite things about the summer is yard sales. Everyone in and around my town decides to have yard sales. I haven’t been to one in a few years and I’d like to get back into it. I know I’ll have to work most of the weekends, but there are always a few yard sales going on at a time so I might finally have a chance to go there and actually buy something.

The other thing I love is going thrifting or second-hand shopping. I haven’t been to one in a few years until last week. I picked up two skirts for a relatively cheap price and I’ve been hooked ever since. Since I’ll be going on vacation, I want to pick up a few new or well, almost new clothes to take with me. I won’t be going until September but it’ll be awesome to get a head-start on it.

I’m not really looking for anything in particular, but hope I can add to my wardrobe without breaking the bank.

Those are my 5 Summer Bucket List items! What are your bucket list items for over the summer? You can check out 5 Fandom Friday on The Nerdy Girlie!

 

Leave a Reply

