‘P.S. I Like You’ spoiler review and my thoughts

I can’t believe it’s only the third week of June and I’m already almost finished with my TBR. For my next to last TBR book, I chose P.S. I Like You by Kasie West. This is my first time reading one of her books and I heard mixed reviews so I was on the fence about this book.

This is your spoiler warning. I’ll be talking about plot points, events, characters and everything from P.S. I Like You so beware, there are spoilers. I’ll try to keep my spoiler warnings as plain and general as possible lol. 

This book was another I didn’t know much about before starting. I hadn’t watched any reviews or heard a lot of talk about. After reading the book description, I was hooked because it seemed like such an adorable concept. As someone who has previously written on desks, it was what I had always hoped.

Anyways, this book was a typical YA romance but still a feel-good and cute read. I’ll talk about what I loved about the book and then a few things I didn’t like as much. The main thing I loved was the letter writing and their way of communicating. They were able to put their feelings on paper and it was so different from the typical email romance.

The other thing I loved was how they fell in love gradually. They were able to connect through their letters but didn’t develop feelings immediately. One of the tropes I really don’t like is insta love where the characters fall in love almost immediately.

Then there was the character development. Cade went from being a complete jerk at first to being a misunderstood, sweet guy. West wrote him flawlessly and I’m so glad she didn’t paint him as a stereotypical bully/jerk. Lily learned to become more self-confident and a better friend to Isabel. Isabel was one of my favorite characters because she was Lily’s voice of reason and called Lily out when she needed it.

I only had two issues with the book, but nothing too major. At some points, the book was extremely predictable especially when we learned Cade was the one who was writing the letters. Hearing Lily go on and on about how much she hated Cade was the biggest indicator. The other moment I thought was extremely predictable was Sasha embarrassing Cade and Lily. As soon as they got together, I knew something or someone would try to ruin it and as soon as Lily said her notebook was missing, Sasha had to be up to something.

The other issue I had was how many tropes there were in this book. I don’t mind a few tropes, actually I love a good trope. There were just one too many in here for me which was distracting. There was the hate-to-love trope, the awkward yet special girl, a love triangle and the “plot twist” that we all were counting on. Even with all the tropes, the book was a fun, cute summer read and I would recommend it to someone looking for something light-hearted.

For my first time reading Kasie West, I’m glad I chose P.S. I Like You and I hope the other books I have of hers are as cute as this one. I love how West writes her characters, the pacing and her writing style was whimsical. I would pick up P.S. I Like You again, especially if I was in a reading slump because it’s sickly sweet and would bring my spirts up for sure.

I give P.S. I Like You 3 out of 5 stars.

 

One thought on “‘P.S. I Like You’ spoiler review and my thoughts

Leave a Reply

