‘Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda’ spoiler review and my thoughts

Checking off my third TBR this month is Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli. After reading The Upside of Unrequited, I wanted to check out Becky Albertalli’s first book and see if it lived up to my sky-high expectations.

As per usual, this is your spoiler warning. I will be talking about major plot points/events from Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda. If you haven’t read it yet, there will be spoilers so beware! 

Going into this book, I had high expectations for Albertalli but not for the book itself if that makes sense. I knew how talented she was and the reliability of her characters so I hoped it translated to her first book.

I basically went into this book blind, because I didn’t know much. I’d heard Booktubers talk about it but nothing with spoilers. Honestly, I’d forgotten most of that when I started reading anyways. Let’s talk about Simon. What I loved most about Simon was how cluelessly adorable he was. When he was trying to figure out who he was emailing, it was so cute to watch him try to piece it together and his uncertainty.

I loved all the characters in the book for the most part, too. I wasn’t always the biggest fan of Leah because she acted like a brat in my opinion. I extremely disliked how she acted when Simon talked about coming out to Abby and how she kept saying she felt upset when it wasn’t her place. Simon came out to Abby for a reason and Leah shouldn’t have acted like that. Overall, the characters were all genuinely likable people besides Martin for the most part.

Outing someone is never good, but the way Martin did it was extremely harsh. He didn’t get what he wanted and then ripped Simon for it. It was such a sleazy move and it makes me feel gross, just thinking about it. I was honestly shocked when it happened too.

Trying to piece together who Blue was was probably my favorite part of the book. At first, I thought it was Cal. It would have been extremely obvious if it was Cal so I didn’t have that belief for long. Then I thought maybe it could have been Martin or Nick until the president comment. My other guess was Bram but I found it to be doubtful but when it was, I was so happy.

All of the moments between Bram and Simon were sweet and it felt like falling in love all over again. Seeing their budding romance develop over email and then in person was such a treat. I could go on and on about how much I loved them especially all the cute things Bram did for Simon including giving him that Elliott Smith t-shirt. Their romance didn’t feel forced either or move too quickly, but they felt like a real couple.

Another moment I think Albertalli did perfectly was Simon coming out to his parents and eventually confronting them. When Simon confronted his dad about his gay jokes, it felt so raw. I was glad he said something though because it’s hard to stand up for yourself when you’re reduced to a joke.

Speaking of Simon’s dad, the family relationships in the book were awesome. There was so much I loved about this book, I could go on and on. I didn’t think anything by Albertalli could hold up against The Upside of Unrequited but Simon really did. She’s honestly one of my favorite YA authors and I can’t wait to see where her career takes her next.

I give Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda 5 out of 5 stars.

 

One thought on “‘Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda’ spoiler review and my thoughts

Leave a Reply

