‘Queens Of Geek’ spoiler review and my thoughts

For the second book on my TBR, I chose Queens Of Geek by Jen Wilde. Going into this book, I knew there was a lot of hype and a lot of people lumped it in with Geekerella as they’re both set in conventions. I was excited to see how the story unfolded and what happened and boy was I surprised.

Like my last post, this is your spoiler warning. I will be talking about major plot points from Queens Of Geek and my thoughts on the book as a whole. If you haven’t read the book, then this is your warning. There will be spoilers below! 

Reading the description of the book made Queens Of Geek seem so interesting. After hearing it was about Youtubers, conventions, and fandom, I was stoked to read it. Plus it’s a YA book so why wouldn’t I love it? Boy was I wrong about this book and I’m so sad because I really did want to love it.

Before I start being too negative, I’ll talk about what I liked in the book. The amount of representation the book had was phenomenal. There’s talk about autism, anxiety, sexuality, and feminism. As far as representation goes, the book hit it out of the park although I would have like a few more characters of color.

I loved all the pop culture references and like Geekerella, I love what I call “random fandom” which is basically the book’s versions of fandoms. Here, it’s all about Taylor’s love for the fandom, Queen Firestone and I’m not even sure if I can think of a fandom I belong to that I can compare it to. The book also referred to a lot of real things in pop culture like The Vampire Diaries, Felicia Day and Marvel.

Now onto what I didn’t like about the book. As I began reading through, it felt like everything was so predictable. I knew Taylor and Jamie were going to get together as well as Charlie and Alyssa. Then there was the moment when Charlie and Alyssa kissed on the camera and I knew it would leak online somehow. At the beginning, Taylor didn’t get to meet Skylar and I knew by the end, she would. It’s so hard to enjoy a book when everything you think is going to happen actually does. It became difficult for me to be excited about what was going to happen especially during the last 50 pages or so.

Another thing I wasn’t a big fan of was there really was no climax or action. There really wasn’t a huge plot to follow throughout the book. Taylor and Charlie both had plotlines, mostly revolving around their love lives. That’s not necessary a bad thing, but just wasn’t what I’d expect from a book entitled Queens Of Geek.

I had pretty high expectations for this book and it sadly didn’t meet all of them. It was a fluffy, feel-good read though so I can’t hate it too much. As a first time Jen Wilde reader, I was slightly disappointed but I’d give her another try. The book might not have been what I expected but it was still a relatively fun read so no harm done.

I give Queens Of Geek a 2.5 out of 5 stars.

 

One thought on “‘Queens Of Geek’ spoiler review and my thoughts

Leave a Reply

