My June TBR and Reading Goals 2017

It’s hard to believe June is finally here and after a productive May, I’m ready to take on June. I’m going to break down my TBR and then my reading goals for the month.

I went a little overboard, downloading books and a lot of them are Young Adult books. After not reading for pleasure in a long time, I’m finally getting back into it and falling back in love with reading all over again. This month, I’m planning on reading 5 books and it’s a pretty small goal considering how many I read last month. Most of them are YA with a few others thrown in there so I don’t get bored of it.

1. Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Everything Everything

Photo Credit: Everything Everything/ Image Acquired from Barnes and Noble

The book I’m looking forward to most is Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. One of my friends wants to go see the movie and I’d like to read the book before I go see it. A lot of Youtubers who recommend YA books have recommended this one and I’ve heard a lot of good things about the book, too.

For those who don’t know, this book follows a girl named Maddie who is literally allergic to everything outside and she is confined to her house. A boy around her age moves in next to her and all she knows is she’s going to fall in love with him according to the book description. It seems like a cute and light-hearted summer read. Plus I heard there are a bit of mixed media throughout the book and I have yet to read a book like that so it will be something new for me to try.

2. Queens Of Geek by Jen Wilde

Queens of Geek

Photo Credit: Queens Of Geek/ Image Acquired from Good Reads

After reading Geekerella, I was hungry for more fandom and convention books. When I heard about Queens of Geek, I knew I had to at least give it a chance. From what I’ve heard, this book has a lot of diversity and representation along with fandoms. Cited as a love letter to geek culture, it looks like something that could be great to follow up Everything Everything.

One of my favorite Youtubers, Alana King or King Books recommended it in her Fandom reads so there’s no way I couldn’t pick it up. Also, the cover art is beautiful so it attracted me to the book immediately. I have such high hopes for this book!

3. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

Photo Credit: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda; Image Acquired via Deadline

After reading The Upside of Unrequited, I fell in love with Becky Albertalli’s writing style and I knew I had to read more. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda is one of those books I’ve heard a lot about but haven’t yet picked up. So what better time than now to pick it up?

As Albertalli’s debut novel, I’m excited to see the differences between this one and Upside. She’s such a talented writer and told such a delightful story so this one shouldn’t be any different. It’s going to be a movie next year too so I want to be able to sneak it in before then. It’s another LGBT read and I could always use more diversity in my YA books.

4. P.s. I LIke you by Kasie West

P.S. I Like You

Photo Credit: P.S. I Like You/ Image Acquired via KasieWest.com

This month, I’m venturing into unknown territory with some young adult books. I haven’t actually read any except Becky Albertalli so here’s to trying new things. There’s nothing I love more than some good YA romance and I’ve heard awesome things about Kacie West.

She’s basically the queen of YA romances and after reading the book description, I knew I had to give this one a try. It seems like such a cute concept and something I’ll fall in love with. As a first-time West Reader, I hope this book starts me on a journey to reading others by her.

5. True Letters From A fictional Life by Kenneth Logan

 True Letters From A Fictional Life

Photo Credit: True Letters From A Fictional Life / Image Acquired from Barnes and Noble

Last but not least on my TBR is True Letters From A Fictional LifeThis is another LGBT read and one I haven’t heard much about so I’m going in blind. What drew me in was the book description and the possibility of the book being told through letters. I love writing and reading letters so this format should be right up my alley.

Then there’s the cover art which I have so many questions. Hopefully, I can figure out why there’s an alligator pez dispenser and what it has to do with the story. Even though I don’t know much, it looks like a fun read so we’ll see.

Reading Goals for June: I don’t have many reading goals for June, but one goal I want to try to achieve is setting ahead reading time. With my work schedule in limbo, it’s hard to find the perfect time, but I hope this month, I’m able to set ahead time each day, every other day or week to just sit down and read.

The other goal I have is setting up a reading routine. I’ve watched a few videos about this so I have a rough idea of what people do. However, I want to see if I figure out my own reading routine and find a way to balance reading with work and writing so I don’t give up on my TBR.

What are your reading goals for this month? What are you most looking forward to reading?

 

Leave a Reply

